Race Recap: Abbey, Morton earn wins at Stand On It Classic

COLCORD, Oklahoma (March 22, 2024) — Touring Stock Car master Jeffrey Abbey and open-wheel ace J.C. Morton each won features in their respective divisions, as Bryce Hall and his staff hosted Night No. 1 of the inaugural Stand On It Classic on Friday at the beautiful Arrowhead Speedway. 

Abbey powered to victory in the headlining $5,000-to-win A Main for USRA Stock Cars, while Morton prevailed in a talent-filled tilt for USRA B-Mods. Chase Martin (USRA Tuners) was also a feature winner on a crisp yet perfect night for racing in the Sooner State. 

Replay Night 1, click here!

Abbey, of Boyd, Texas, started on the pole of a 25-car grid, drove to the inside of Andy Milliken coming off Turn 4 to take command at lap eight and hung on for top honors. Fellow Texan Cody Smith powered up from seventh to claim second, while Modified star Jason Hughes filled out the podium. 

Milliken (Greenwood, Arkansas) and Blake Adams (McIntire, Iowa) completed the top five. 

“I jokingly asked the guys in the trailer earlier if they thought anybody in the second and third rows would trade places with me, because I hate starting on the front row,” Abbey told Kevin Rogers in Victory Lane. “We got our front early, and figured we would be ripping the top like the B-Mods. 

“But my car was way too tight to do that. We gave the lead away, but that forced us down to the bottom and luckily we found something down there. So we were able to walk back by him. The biggest thing I was worried about was these American Racer tires. We only race on them maybe once or twice a year.” 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Summers Well Drilling USRA Stock Car A Main were Derek Green, Damon Murty (who started 16th), Bryan White, Texan Shelby Williams (who qualified via the LCQ and started dead-last in 25th) and Cody Jones. Four cautions slowed the pace, all minor incidents.   

Abbey’s margin of victory over Smith was a healthy 2.298 seconds, as he had this field covered easily.  

Adams, Milliken, J.D. Jackson, Richi Tosh, Derek Brown, William Garner, Austin Meiners and John Bubbus all won their respective qualifying Heats earlier in the evening, while Dallon Murty, Cole Suckow, Jason Rogers and Damon Murty won their respective B Features. 

Morton, of Springfield, Missouri, started on the pole of a 24-car B-Mod grid and led all 20 laps. Kyle Slader crossed the stripe in second, while Missouri powerhouse Bobby Williams (Hermitage) filled out the podium. Mike Streigel and red-hot Texan Boone Evans rounded out the top five. 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the AmeriFlex USRA B-Mod feature were Greg Muirhead, Cody King, Dylan Cantwell, Dan Culp and Tanner Kade. One caution slowed the pace at lap 16 for a minor issue.  Morton’s margin of victory over Slade was a comfortable 1.558 seconds, as he was on rails all night. 

Night 1 of their inaugural Stand On It Classic at Arrowhead Speedway drew an impressive 151 entries between three divisions. Led by the headlining USRA Stock Cars with a whopping 87 teams on hand,  there was no shortage of talent in the pits as drivers prepared for battle.  

Officials knocked out 15 qualifying Heats, six B Features and a special ‘Win and You’re In’ Last Chance Qualifier in short order, took a brief intermission then hosted three highly-entertaining features. It was a great start to this two-night extravaganza designed to put the racy USRA Stock Cars into the Spotlight.

You can replay every lap of Friday night’s Stand On It Classic event at Arrowhead Speedway with a subscription at Newly re-branded with a commitment to promote local racing, RaceON (formerly RaceON) has over 400 Live events on tap in 2024 from several states. 

Click Here To Watch Saturday Night’s LIVE Stream!

When you sign up today, choose your favorite (or hometown) track and start enjoying great content while supporting your local track even when you  can’t attend in person.  

By Phil Whipple, Staff Writer