Race Recap: Davis, Day, Capps win at Hunt County Raceway

GREENVILLE, Texas (June 21, 2024) — Touring Late Model pilot Cory Davis, Modified veteran Bo Day, and open-wheel master Landon Capps all earned feature wins in their respective classes, as officials hosted a busy show on Friday at Hunt County Raceway.  

Davis powered to victory in an exciting A Main for American Crate Late Model Series (SCLMS) teams; Day prevailed in a talent-filled affair for the ground-pounding Modifieds; while Capps was triumphant in a hotly-contested tilt for USRA Limited Modifieds. 

CLICK Here To Replay every lap from Hunt County

Chris Davis (Factory Stocks); Tyler Malone (Eco Mods) and Dusty Lee Jr. (Jr. Limiteds) were also feature winners on a beautiful night for racing in North Texas. 

Davis, of Seminole, started fourth on a 19-car grid, drove to the outside of Chase Neill coming off Turn 4 to take command at lap 10 and hung on to earn top honors. Neill crossed the stripe in second, while Late model powerhouse Beau Begnaud filled out the podium. 

Joe Sheddan (Whitney) and Chase Raymond (Scurry) finished fourth and fifth, respectively. 

“It was good from my vantage point,” Davis said in Victory Lane. “I was just trying to get it cleaned off. I was afraid the 32 (Begnaud) had seen me doing that on that last restart, and thought he might take it away. But is it what it is, and it all worked out for us. 

“I just tried to keep the momentum going in this thing. This was only our second time in a Late Model, so it’s a pretty good feeling right now. I want to thank all of my sponsors and family for their support.” 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the American Crate Late Model Series A Main were Donnie Shipp, Troy Tindall, Austin Theiss, Dennie Gieber and Donald Lehman. Three cautions slowed the pace, all for minor incidents. 

The ACLMS gang had tried for over two months to get their opener completed. 

Neill, Begnaud and Tindall all won their respective qualifying Heats earlier in the evening. 

Day, of Greenville, started on the pole of a 19-car Modified grid and led all 20 laps in convincing style. North Texas stalwart Shane Hartline gave chase throughout yet settled for second, while former Texas Short Track Driver-of-the-Year Matthew Day filled out the podium. 

Modified ace William Gould (Calera, OK) claimed fourth, while Wendell Bolden finished in fifth place.

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Grubb’s Collision & Motorsports Modified feature were Casey Fowler, James McCreery, Jason Sartain (who started back in 19th), Dalton Spear and Jake Huckaby. 

Three cautions slowed the pace, all for quick spins. Bo Day, Matthew Day and Bolden won their Heats.

Capps, of Anna, stated on the pole of his Limited feature and led every lap in dominant fashion. North Texas oval icon Tim Clonch crossed the stripe in second, while Cory Whitworth filled out the podium. 

Skyler McFarlin (Seagoville) and Davis Lemaster (Grandview) rounded out the top five. 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Bakers Ribs Caddo Mills-Greenville USRA Limited Modified feature were Jett Hefti, Kyle Whitworth, Tommy Davis Jr., Carson Bradley and Matthew Riskey. Five cautions slowed the pace, most for quick spins. 

This week’s program at Hunt County Raceway drew an impressive 105 entries spread across six divisions. Led by the mighty Crate Lates and Limited/B-Mods with 20 each, there was no shortage of talent in the pit area on Friday night. 

Officials cranked out 16 qualifying Heats in short order, took a brief intermission, then hosted six exciting features with little delay. After rain had plagued the area for what seems like months, fans turned out Friday night to make up for lost time. 

You can replay every lap of Friday night’s American Crate Late Model Series season opener at Hunt County Raceway with a Membership at Newly re-branded with a commitment to promote local racing, RaceON (formerly RaceON) has over 450 Live events on tap in 2024.  

When you become a Member, select your favorite (or hometown) track and start enjoying great content while supporting your home track when you can’t attend in person with our revenue sharing program.  

By Phil Whipple, Staff Writer. Photo by: Mike Frieri