Race Recap: Henigan, Smith, Davis win at RPM Speedway

CRANDALL, Texas (July 6, 2024) — Veteran Modified master Chris Henigan, regional stalwart Cody Smith and Stock car phenom Chris Davis all won feature races in their respective divisions, as officials hosted a full card of racing on Saturday night at RPM Speedway. 

Henigan powered to victory in a 20-lap A Main for Modified teams; Smith prevailed in a talent-filled affair for Limited Modifieds; while Davis was triumphant in Factory Stock action. Justin Fifield (305 Sprints) and Brady Ross (Class A Micros) were also feature winners on a beautiful night for racing. 

Click Here To Replay every lap from RPM!

Henigan, of Marshall, started eighth on a 22-car grid, drove to the inside of Cody Smith coming off Turn 4 to take command at lap six and pulled steadily away to earn top honors. Clyde Dunn Jr. crossed the stripe in second, while Cody Smith (doing triple duty on Saturday) filled out the podium.  

Jack Sartain (Royse City) and Tyler Townsend (Longview) finished fourth and fifth, respectively. 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Modified A Main were Jason Langford, Richard Brown Jr., Danny Veal, Dustin Henigan and Troy Tindall. Seven cautions slowed the pace (laps 0, 3, 4, 4, 8, 9, 12), all for minor incidents. The old saying “cautions breed cautions” was very true in Crandall on Saturday night. 

Smith, of Kaufman, started fourth on a 20-car grid, drove to the outside of Bobby Ortega coming off Turn 4 To take control at lap five and hung on to earn top honors. Casey Brunson crossed the line in second, while Dean Abbey drove up from 10th to claim third.

North Texas regulars Matt Lunsford (Crandall) and Michael Dabney (Kaufman) completed the top five. 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Limited Modified feature were Trevor Cogburn, Landon Capps. Tyler Russell, Bobby Ortega and Garett Rawls. Two cautions slowed the pace for quick spins. 

Davis, of Wills Point, started ninth on a 24-car Factory Stock grid, drove to the outside of Calvin Williams coming off Turn 4 to take command at lap 11 and pulled away to earn top honors. Williams settled for the runner-up position, while Italy’s Michael Bowles filled out the podium. 

Dirt oval icon Jeffrey Abbey (Boyd) and Albert McCall Jr. (Crandall) rounded out the top five. 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Factory Stock A Main were Tommy Williams, Michael Dabney, Dakota Raines, Melvin Kemp Jr. and Dillon Kidwell. Four cautions slowed the pace for minor spins. 

After being plagued by persistent rains, this was the first actual points-paying event in nearly two months at RPM Speedway. North Texas has endured a nearly-constant deluge in 2024, making it extremely difficult for track promoters to “stay afloat,” so-to-speak. A dry night is truly a blessing. 

Saturday night’s program (Week 6 for points chasers) at RPM Speedway drew a whopping 113 entries spread across five divisions. Led by the might Limited Modifieds with 39 teams on hand, there was all kinds of talent in the pits on Saturday evening. It really was like a who’s who of Texas racing on hand.

Officials cranked out 15 qualifying Heats and two B Mains in short order, took a brief intermission, then proceeded to host five exciting features. With several other tracks off, drivers from all over Texas headed to Crandall to stay active. 

The real winners were local fans who got to witness it all up-close. 

You can replay every lap of Saturday night’s full program at RPM Speedway with a Membership at Newly re-branded with a commitment to promote local racing, RaceON (formerly RaceON) has over 450 Live events on tap in 2024 from several states.  

By Phil Whipple, Staff Writer