Race Recap: Winslett, Kulhanek, Cain win at 105 Speedway

CLEVELAND, Texas (May 25, 2024) — Veteran Late Model racer David Winslett; open-wheel master Ray Allen Kulhanek, and Stock car pilot Donald Cain Jr. all won features in their respective divisions, as Joey Smith and his staff hosted a full card of racing on Saturday night at 105 Motor Speedway. 

Winslett powered to victory in a caution-plagued 30-lap tilt for Gulf South Crate Racing Association teams; Kulhanek prevailed in a talent-filled affair for Limited Modifieds; while Cain was triumphant in a hotly-contested battle for Factory Stocks. 

Rob Slott (Street Stocks); Corey Babbit (Mod Lites) and Duane Williams (EMSA Micros) were also feature winners on a beautiful night for racing in Southeast Texas. 

Winslett, of Bossier City, started second on a 17-car grid and led all 30 laps in convincing fashion. Chase Holland crossed the stripe in second, while Beau Begnaud filled out the podium. Mark Underwood Jr. and Rob Litton finished fourth and fifth, respectively. 

Click here to replay 105 now

“I knew I had to get by Dennie (Gieber) early,” Winslett said in Victory Lane. “He’s a really good racer. I got into him right here on the front straightaway; he kind of squeezed up, and I was there. Man, that’s one of my good buddies, so I hated to see it. 

“It’s been a long time since we won one. To beat a field of cars with the level of talent we have here tonight is awesome. I just had to arch it into the corners to keep it locked down and stay in the rubber. I felt like I missed it once or twice; the car got sideways and I spun out under caution. It just didn’t hold.” 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Gulf South Crate Racing Association A Main were Corey Neil Jr. (who won at Sabine on Friday night), Talan Willis, Jayden Pina, Austin Theiss and Tracy Denby Sr. 

A whopping six cautions slowed the pace (laps 6, 14, 14, 19, 22, 22), all for minor incidents. 

Winslett’s margin of victory over a young, hard-charging Holland was a scant .535 of a second. 

Kulhanek, of Danbury, started eighth on a 19-car grid, drove to the outside of Howard Willis coming off Turn 4 to take command at lap 11 and hung on to earn top honors. Tracy Denby Jr. crossed the stripe in second, while Corey Neil Jr. (doing double duty) filled out the podium. 

Ageless veteran Willis finished fourth after winning his Heat earlier, while Justin Collins was fifth. 

“On most nights, when Howard starts on the pole, you might as well write the check out in his name,” Kulhanek said. “He was married to the bottom, and I felt like I had a little grip on the outside. I knew I wanted to get up to third, because I felt like I might have something for them tonight. 

“It’s real choppy going across that rubbered in area; it’s real dirty and you pretty much just lose the car until you get to the center. I just figured if I could get a good, clean run on entry, and get through the center beside him, I just might have shot to get around him safely. It kind of worked out in our favor.” 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Limited Modified feature were Kalif Sellier, Skeeter Kulikowski, Kevin Sturgess, William Sellier and Matthew Cassell Jr. Seven cautions slowed the pace (laps 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 12, 16), none for serious incident. Kulhanek’s margin of victory over Denby was .782 of a second. 

Cain Jr., of Willis, started on the pole of his feature and led all 20 laps in dominant style. Craig Pursley gave it all he had to get by Cain yet settled for the runner-up position by mere inches, while Justin McClelland claimed third. Mark Cupp Jr. and 105 regular Jason Downey completed the top five. 

“I saw Craig right behind and even underneath me all night,” Cain said. “We always race each other clean, I can’t thank him enough for that. My own car is broken, but my good friend Jonathan, who is out of town working, told me to go get his car. 

“We did, and here we are in Victory Lane. The track has a lot of character tonight, I made few adjustments after the Heat race. I knew what I needed to do.” 

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Factory Stock A Main were James Bryant, Tim Hight, Olon Holder IV, Daniel Seals and Steven Thornton. Four cautions slowed the pace, all for minor incidents. Cain’s margin of victory over Pursley was a scant .299 of a second, easily the closest finish of the evening. 

Saturday night’s full program at 105 Motor Speedway drew an impressive 135 entries spread across six divisions. Led by Limited Mods with 28 and Factory Stocks with 27, there was no shortage of talent in Joey Smith’s pit area. Fans were treated to side-by-side and even three-wide action all evening long. 

Officials knocked out 15 qualifying Heats and a pair of B Mains in short order, then hosted six very entertaining features. In 2023, Smith was named Promoter-of-the-Year for his efforts to make 105 Speedway more successful. His grandstands were full of eager fans again on Saturday night.

You can replay every lap of Saturday night’s program at 105 Motor Speedway with a Membership at Newly re-branded with a commitment to promote local racing, RaceON (formerly RaceON) has over 400 Live events on tap in 2024 from several states. 

By Phil Whipple, Staff Writer